J.S. Bach – Chorale Partita ”Sei gegrüsset, Jesu gütig” – BWV 768 – Interpretation

May 8, 2022

Now I am preparing this huge composition by J.S. Bach. The Chorale Partita ”Sei gegrüsset, Jesu gütig” BWV 768. It is a chorale with eleven variations.

CHORALE

When I play Bach, I use ideas from different kinds of organ schools. The romantic organ tradition is too outdated to really work for the modern music listener. Also the way organ professors play Bach today, often feels a bit tough. So my way of playing Bach is pretty much an updated version of what many organists in the 1960:s used to do.

I will show a few things about how I think, when I play this music.

VAR. III

In Variation III, I work with non legato and accents in the right hand. There has to be a feeling of a cello playing in the left hand. I play this Variation pretty much in the modern achademic style.

VAR. VI

In the score in VAR. VI you can see the articulation I use. I use my own mix of staccato and portato, in sharp contrast to legato. The pedal is of course legato. I use all the organ stops I have, but no couplers. I do this to get an American flamboyant organ style from the 1970:s.

VAR. VI – The end

In the end of VAR. VI, I go crazy and play shorter and shorter notes in the hands, to surprise the listener. I also want to make the rythm a little bit ”elastic”, by staying too long on certain notes, and ”hurry up” the other notes. This should sound a bit unexeptected and you could say this is typical for a few modern organists from the French cathedral tradition.

VAR. VIII

In Variation VIII, I play in the style of the modern ”English” tradition, with air and puls in the scales. There are no specific accents I want to do. The scales in this variation should just flow.

VAR. X
VAR. X – Bar 8 – 9

And in the last Variations X, that is written in chorale style, I follow the older Leipzig tradition, with legato and a few powerful accents. As you can see the Cantus firmus is marked C. in VAR. X, and should be played on a separate manual.

2 kommentarer på “J.S. Bach – Chorale Partita ”Sei gegrüsset, Jesu gütig” – BWV 768 – Interpretation

  1. Dear Jonas, your post is very interesting. I am studying this piece for my school now and it helps me a lot in studying it. Could you tell me if you know of any publication where they put the fingering? thanks greetings!

    Gilla

    1. Thanks. I played this Partita on my graduation concert at the Music Conservatory. I guess my organ professor helped me a little bit with the fingering. At that time I played the music the way modern Universities theaches Bach. Today I play it in my own way. Influenzed by Virgil Fox and others. Of course in Marcel Dupré’s Bach Edition, you will find a great french romantic fingering. I don’t know where to find a more up to date fingering.

      Gilla

Lämna en kommentar