Organ Recital at 12:00 PM

Lunch concert in Östersund

This is a photo from my lunch concert in Gamla kyrkan, Östersund/Sweden. April 6, 2022.

It was fun to do this recital. I played three of my own compositions, and I made three improvisations. This time I did not play any traditional classical music (like Bach). I wanted to focus the whole concert on my own compostions and improvisations. The concert was filmed, and soon I will post some YouTube videos from this 12:00 PM lunch Recital.

Reading mails from people visiting the concert, I could see they enjoyed listening to my Toccata in Bb minor, Opus 14, and my Tango Militante in F minor, Opus 22. The Toccata in Bb minor was composed about 20 years ago, as a show piece. For the first time I will post this Toccata on YouTube, since I was pleased with this live performance of the piece.

This organ has a typical baroque sound, but one of my improvisations (a long tango) was in symphonic style. Far away from any music that is usually played on a baroque-style organ. But the Tutti on this organ (when all the organ’s stops is used at the same), has a kind of symphonic organ sound. At least from my point of view.

When I improvise or play my own organ works, I am very careful to let the music flow, to create alot of energy. I feel love when I do that.

Jonas Karlsson – Mars 2022

Lämna en kommentar