Christmas concert

Jonas Karlsson at the Steinway grand piano

It was really fun to do a Christmas concert with the singer Torbjön Edlund, in the EFS Church – Östersund, Sweden. We did this concert on December 27, 2021. This is the first time I made a live concert on a Steinway grand piano, and I was delighted to play live on such a powerful instrument.

Half the program was traditional Christmas songs, and half the program was piano solo music. I played Chopin and Schumann, but most of all I did some improvisations, and I played one of my own my virtuoso compostions for solo piano. As I often do, I ended the concert with my own version of ”My Way”. On this concert I improvised a piano fugue on ”Staffansvisan”, and I improvised on some fun themes from Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsodies.

Torbjörn was singing the traditional Christmas hits, like ”O holy night” and ”Ave Maria”, by Schubert. He also sang two of his own compositions. Very well written music. Torbjörn has a powerful voice, and I hope we will soon make more concerts together.

Torbjörn Edlund – Singer

Lämna en kommentar